Peanut Butter Honey Cookies

Years ago, my friend Sherri sold a bottomless cookie jar at a church auction.  I thought it was a brilliant idea, and so did my husband.  He bought it.  Now, you have to understand, I have always been a baker, and a pretty good one at that.  My husband buying the cookie jar from Sherri seemed kind of silly to me.  There may have even been a flare of jealousy!  Sherri is an amazing cook and baker, and I always love a homemade cookie wherever it may come from.  So it was pretty easy to just look forward to Sherri’s cookies, and put my jealousy behind me.  I know she was excited to share her talents with us, but, alas, my dear husband only wanted chocolate chip cookies, month after month.  If I remember right, she threw in a few others once in a while.  I know we got peanut butter blossoms once for sure, because I loved them!

When the opportunity to donate to the school auction came up a few years ago, I quickly remembered Sherri’s bottomless cookie jar, and put one of my own up for auction.  Elvin, a friend from church spotted it, and every year since then he has watched that item like a hawk, being sure to go home with it.  It is a silent auction item.  Last year, he just put in the maximum bid first thing!  It has been a joy to make cookies for Elvin.  His one request was that I NOT make chocolate chip cookies.  So, I have enjoyed trying new recipes out each month.

Elvin missed the auction this year!  His stiff competition from years past won the bid!  I am now making cookies for Bob and Marvalene, and they will get some of my chocolate chips!

My deliveries start with the school year.  The September cookie is always peanut butter.  Peanut butter cookies  just says back to school to me.

Here is my favorite:

Peanut Butter Honey Cookie            375  degree oven

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • granulated sugar
  1. Beat butters together for 30 seconds
  2. Add sugars, baking soda, baking powder
  3. Beat until combined
  4. Beat in egg and vanilla
  5. Add flour
  6. If necessary, cover and chill until dough is easy to handle
  7. Shape into 1-inch balls, roll in sugar, place on ungreased cookie sheet
  8. Flatten in criss-cross shape with tines of a fork
  9. 375 degrees, 7-9 minutes, or until bottoms are lightly browned
  10. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool

From Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, c.1996

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 22:00:49

    Elvin is missing those cookies too, but doesn’t saY much. i have been making him zuchinni sweet potato muffins instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

