Squirrel Cookies

I love everything nutty, chocolate and nuts, nuts and berries, nuts and nuts… I even like life to be a bit nutty.  My husband might go as far as to say I am nuts!  I am a kindred spirit with the squirrels in my backyard.

Growing up in Michigan, there were squirrels everywhere.  There were black squirrels, gray squirrels, and red squirrels, and even the occasional gray squirrel with a red tail.  I would watch them from my upstairs bedroom window as they played high in the branches of the towering maples that dwarfed our two-story Victorian home.

After college, I married and moved to Oregon with my sweet husband.  That was 25 years ago!  Where we first lived, I did not have squirrels in my backyard.  I really don’t recall a squirrel at all.  Maybe I was too busy starting my life to notice.  In 2000 we moved to Washington, and I was thrilled to make the acquaintance of three squirrels who had claimed my backyard as their own.  As I watched them play, I felt as if they were saying, “Welcome home.”

Squirrels are a constant blur of activity.  As I see how busy they are, I know I need be busy, too.  Scurry!  Scurry!  I am so happy with a day that is full of accomplishment.  I do often wonder how they find the nuts that they hide everywhere.  Then I laugh at myself.  After 10 years in this house, my treasures are also buried everywhere!

Our dear beagle, Chipper was with us when we first moved here.  We lost him a few years ago.  It gives me a chuckle to remember how the squirrels would play and tease Chipper.  They would get close, allowing him the thrill of the chase. As he bayed at them in the trees, they laughed back, twitching their tails.  I like to tease and play also.  Gently teasing my husband and son brings joy and laughter to our days.

As the squirrels are gathering nuts for the winter, they remind me to be preparing for what life will bring.  I am dependent on the Lord’s provision.  We all face hard things in life.  Whatever the battle is, experience has taught me that the Lord will provide, and the strength I need for those moments is in a constant gathering.  Each morning, I am gathering wisdom for my day and seeking God’s direction for my life.  His provision will be more than enough.

Be busy, be joyful, trust God for his provision, gather his wisdom for your life, and let me know what you think of the cookies!

My cookies, and the little squirrel hubby gave me when we were dating. 

~~~~~~~~

“Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.”  Acts 14:17

~~~~~~~~

Squirrel Cookies       375 degree oven, 10-12 minutes

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mapleine flavoring or 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1  1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut (island squirrels)
  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 1 cup finely chopped hazelnuts
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips (honest, they like these)
  1. Cream butter and sugars until fluffy
  2. Add next eggs and maple flavor, beat until smooth
  3. Combine dry ingredients
  4. Add dry to wet
  5. Stir in coconut, oats, hazelnuts and butterscotch chips.
  6. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto baking sheet
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes or until brown
  8. Transfer to a wire rack to cool

Makes 3-4 dozen

Leave a Reply

