Mexican Wedding Cookies

Busy, busy, busy!  And a little tired!  I meant to post this recipe earlier.  I meant to bake cookies for the neighbors before now.  I meant to send Christmas cards (ok, since I haven’t actually done that for years, maybe I didn’t really mean that one).  I will keep the blog short today as I need to get baking on this Christmas Eve Eve!

This is my all time favorite Christmas cookie.  Over the years when ever one has crossed my lips, I have thought, “Oh, MAN!  Cookie Heaven!”  I have never made them before, and in looking for recipes, I saw many that were made with shortening or lard.  I don’t always have those ingredients.  I ALWAYS have butter.    And with thoughts of butter we always turn to…. Paula Deen!  Ya just gotta trust a woman who loves butter that much.

Paula made them into crescents, but I think the less we handle the dough, the better, and I am lazy so I rolled them into balls.  But the crescents are cute…

Roll in powdered sugar… I think the word “dredge” fits better.  I like lots of powdered sugar!  Fill a plastic bag, and made sure they are really covered.  The butter soaks through and the sugar becomes like frosting.  A dusting on top once they have set for a while is nice, that way they won’t stick to your fingers.  And a dusting on the bottom of the cookie tin is a good idea, too.

Merry Christmas!!

Mexican Wedding Cookies

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, plus more for coating baked cookies
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting hands
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped into very small pieces

Preheat oven to 275 degrees.

Lightly grease a cookie sheet, or line with parchment (parchment also keeps your pans in better shape).

Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar at low-speed until it is smooth.

Beat in the vanilla.

At low-speed gradually add the flour.

Mix in the pecans with a spatula.

With floured hands, take out about 1 tablespoon of dough and shape into a crescent or ball.

Continue to dust hands with flour as you make more cookies.

Place onto prepared cookie sheets.

Bake for 40 minutes.

When cool enough to handle but still warm, roll in additional confectioners’ sugar.

Cool on wire racks.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Lawton
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 17:00:24

    Oh boy!!! Bruce LOVES these, and I’ve never, ever made them! You are still such a good friend, Annita … even when you’re just being you!!!! Yeah! BTW, Merriest of Christmases to you, dear girl! Loving you and yours from a distance … see you this summer!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

