Molasses or Oatmeal? Both!

When I started this blog, I shared that the cookies I make each month are for an auction that supports Valley Christian School. Marvalene and Bob had the winning bid this year.  Marvalene had been trying to win the cookie jar for a few years, and finally she did.

This month, I wondered what cookie would taste best to Marvalene. I wanted to make something that would be comforting to her.  I could not decide, so I made both Molasses and Oatmeal.  You see, Marvalene has been diagnosed with cancer recently, and I wasn’t sure how she was feeling.  I don’t believe she has started any treatment.  I see on the prayer chain that today she was admitted to the hospital for more testing.  I hope this means answers for Marvalene and her family, and getting started with treatment soon.

Marvalene has worked at Valley Christian forever (ok, I don’t really know how long, but I think since it opened 30+ years ago).  She is the accounting department.  She wouldn’t have to have much contact with the kids, but Marvalene loves kids.  You don’t have to be at VCS very long before you find out about her candy drawer.  I often hear the kids begging mom or dad to go visit Marvalene.  That drawer is not just a treasure trove of candy, it’s an open door and a smile.  It is an invitation to come.  It lets the kids know that Marvalene is there for them.  They can come, have a piece of candy, and share their hearts.

This photo was taken on Grandparent’s Day a couple of years ago.  Marvalene’s  grand-daughter, Miranda is the tall one in back (she isn’t that tall – everyone else must be really short!)  The other girls’ grandparent’s could not be there, so they had a picture with Marvalene.  She is dearly loved.  Keep her in your prayers for us.

My favorite oatmeal cookie.  The recipe is from Snoqualmie Falls Lodge.  I only bought the Snoqualmie Falls Oatmeal once, but I am so glad I tried this recipe.  (I go a little lighter on the cinnamon, and I skipped the raisins)

The molasses cookie is from allrecipes.com, submitted by Marjorie Jenkins.  It is a great cookie:

Oatmeal Dream Cookies                                  375 degrees     8-10 mins

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups Snoqualmie Falls Lodge® Oatmeal
  • 1 cup raisins (optional)
  1. Cream together butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla on low-speed until smooth
  2. Stir in flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder and salt until blended
  3. Add oatmeal and raisins 
  4. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased baking sheet
  5. Bake for 8-10 minutes

Favorite Molasses Cookies           375 degrees     8-10 mins

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger 
  1. cream butter and sugar
  2. Beat in molasses and egg
  3. Combine dry ingredients; gradually add to creamed mixture
  4. Chill for 1 hour or until firm
  5. Shape into 1-in. balls
  6. Roll in sugar 
  7. Bake at 375 degrees F for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned
  8.  Cool on wire racks
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hippylostintime
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 00:50:46

    I just want to reiterate how much I absolutely love you. That is all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

